23 comments on “A farewell – and why…

  1. Thomas,

    I, too, have been thinking about how much time socializing has taken away from what I truly love, which of course is writing. I may soon make the same choice you’ve made. Best wishes for a successful writing career and Merry Christmas!

  2. All the best to you, Thomas. I understand completely and good for you for setting your priorities. I too have gotten so behind in my publishing goals with blogging and social media getting more and more of my attention and energy. Maybe I too need to look in the mirror and have a heart to heart with myself.
    Thanks for ALL of your support and encouragement. Now…go write!!

  3. You take care, Thomas! :) We’re your biggest fans, so we’ll be right here if/when you decide to come back. It’s easy to get caught up in all this technology, so kudos to you for not letting take over your life completely. Can’t wait to see what your next project will be!

    All my love,
    Mel

  4. I will be saddened by your leaving us Thomas, as you have been a good friend and willing to help others with your blog. I wish the very best in the future and success with writing. Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year to you, family and friends. All the best from Phantom Bigfoot

  5. It can be difficult achieving the right balance between social media and creative writing. I have found that one very much eats into the other, and at the end of the day we are writers. For what it’s worth I believe that social media should be there to support our writing. Without the right balance it can be a distraction.
    JMO.

  6. Good luck to you, Thomas. I sincerely hope you don’t stop altogether, but I know what you mean. I never could warm up to the Book of Face or The Twiiter, but I enjoy my blogging. It keeps my brain active, and I meet so many truly neat people.

    I’ll be watching for your return, my Brother.

    ~ Ron Herron

  7. All the best Thomas. I think it’s a good thing to make more time for writing. I always wonder how any writer can blog and do all the social media stuff so much and yet still find time to write! Twitter is enough for me, with the occasional blog every other blue moon. Beyond those things, writing my books take ALL my time. And I think I spend too much time on Twitter as it is! Good luck and great writing!

  8. I totally sympathize and send all my best wishes for writing enjoyment and literary success. I always suspected that the social networking “requirement” was a ploy by existing writers to delay and deter the entrance of new, potential competitors. Happy Christmas!

  9. It’s remarkable to visit this web page and reading the views of all colleagues on the
    topic of this article, while I am also keen of getting know-how.

  10. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but
    your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site
    to come back later on. All the best

Leave a Reply

