36 comments on “In Memorium: David Guthrie – 1955-2012

  1. To Thomas and David’s loved ones: You have my sincere sympathy, as well as prayers that you’re able to find strength and peace.

  2. Times like this, Thomas, there are never words appropriate to fill the void..God rest his soul, and look after all of the rest of us too… Savour each moment,, every day is precious…thanks for sharing this, my friend.

  3. What a poignant reminder of how precious our friends are and how much it hurts to lose one. My sincere sympathy goes out to you, Thomas, and to all who love David Guthrie.

  4. Rather than replying to all of your, I hope you’ll all forgive me for saying “THANK YOU!” This once. Your comments and prayers are precious, each and every one….God bless 🙂

  5. Pingback: In Memorium: David Guthrie – 1955-2013 | Greyhart Press

  6. Each of us is the sum of every person he ever met. When a part is taken away, it leaves a void that can never be filled. All we can do is nurture that void, until the edges are smoothed and it becomes a semblance of the comfort we gained from the person who used to occupy it. God be with Dave’s family, God be with you and yours. I’m sending warm thoughts your way, my brother!

  7. You made the hairs on my neck stand at attention. There’s that moment for us all. What we do with the aftermath will be the question. You gave your friend a wonderful eulogy just now and I want to thank you for sharing this special fellow with us all. Genuinely good people don’t come along very often but when they do we all need to stop and be grateful for the life they shared with us. Thanks, Thomas. David is smiling.

  8. Thomas, what a beautiful, moving tribute to your friend! You’ve accomplished more for David’s family in a few paragraphs than anyone could with flowers and condolences. My prayers are with you and the Guthrie family.

  9. Saying a prayer for you and his family. Losing someone is so difficult. You words were beautifully written and from the heart. Cherish the memories, remember the man, and live life with what this has shown you.

  10. There are simply no words to express the pain of losing someone so close to but Thomas, you’ve done eloquent job. I would wish that all of us have a friend like you and a friend who would take the time to write about us. To touch someone during our lifetime may be the greatest gift we can give. And certainly David did. Condolences to all.

  11. My thoughts today will be with David’s family, and with you too, Thomas. I can only hope that when it’s my turn to go, that someone will think I’m worth half of the tribute you paid your friend. You paint a picture of a wonderful man.

  12. I fully understand the loss of a friend and family member. My heart is full of prayers for David, his family and his friends. I wrote about such an event in my own life, not too long ago. http://www.ronherron.wordpress.com/2011/09/

    Your effort to memorialize your friend will bring you and his family comfort. Perhaps not right away, when the pain is still new … but it will. It’s a beautiful tribute.

  13. My prayers to Donna and Shea. Thomas wrote the most beautiful tribute to David. A dedicated and loving friend, Thomas is.

  14. Sincere condolences for your loss, Tom. That was a beautiful and touching tribute you have paid your friend. He was obviously a very special human being.

  15. This is a beautiful memorial for your friend, Thomas. Many prayers for you, him, Donna and Shea. Time doesn’t heal these wounds, it only gives more distance and the ability to accept.
    Blessings …

  16. Very touching. It actually brought a tear to my eye. Dave looks like a great guy, I wish I’d known him too. My prayers are with Donna and Shea for their loss, and you for yours also, Thomas.

  17. I’m so sorry, Thomas. Fate blessed you both by crossing your paths, giving you the joy of knowing one another. They will cross again in another life I’m sure. My thoughts and best wishes to you all.

  18. Pingback: Many heartfelt thanks for your support and prayers :) « Thomas Rydder

  19. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your great friend, Thomas. It sounds like he was very special and you were fortunate to have shared so many moments.

    Be well.

    Bernie

  20. Tom, Thank you so much for this heartfelt tribute to my sweet David. It took me a while to come around to reading it because I knew the tears would flow, and they are. But that’s not a bad thing. Moments like this help me keep him close. You were near and dear to his heart, even over the miles and years, and no one can ever take away your memories of him, and of your times together. I hope we can keep in touch somewhat. Much love,
    Donna and Shay

    • Donna, it was more than my pleasure. I too thought of the both of you many times over the years, and the things that we shared, as you say, far outreach both time and distance. Many of my followers on here are warm, compassionate people, and it touched me that so many offered prayers and comfort for David’s family…write me whenever you want or need.

      All the best,

      T

Leave a Reply

