21 comments on “Good morning, all! My “Chatting with the Authors” segment this morning is with my pal Carole Bugge (C.E. Lawrence) and “Silent Slaughter”…come join us!

  1. Hi Thomas: An engaging and revealing interview. Loved learning about Carole’s early writing career. That childhood story is engaging. She is a new author to me, despite her prolific writing career. Guess that’s what happens when you live on the other side of the continent. I’m looking forward to reading her new book and backtracking to her early books. Although if her serial killer is keeping her up, not sure what he’s going to do to me.

  2. Hi Carole and Thomas– sorry I’m late. Love the interview. Carole your characters are different, really hugely different from the usual, not in the realm of writing on the whole, but in the way they join up, or come together, in your stories. Really do love that.

    I’m curious about your decision to forgo readings. You don’t think that a careful selection of the best spots would be worth it, not just for the reading, itself, but what you can promote by writing, quoting, blogging about it? What about the bookstore connection? What about the publicity they put out, say such as Poisoned Pen in Scottsdale. A few quotes from an event like that, that you can use… why is that not valuable. You are right, of course, about online time being more time efficient, but I suggest that active-world stuff to bring into the internet-world stuff feeds your presence with some outside-your-kitchen reading nutrition.

    xoxo

    • Reine,
      Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments, and for reading my work – I really appreciate your support! You make fabulous points about readings – and it’s true, the publicity that a large store gives you is worth it, for sure. I’ve done several at Barnes and Noble and I must say they have done very well by me – and it sells books even when you get a small turnout.

      But my experience with small indie stores is extremely disappointing. The indie store in Woodstock, where I live half the year, scheduled me and then cancelled the day before without explaining why. So I had to call all my friends and tell them to come to Barnes & Noble instead! Then a friend of mine did a reading at an indie store in NYC this past week, and though it was well attended, I don’t think she sold many books. It was mostly her friends and colleagues attending.

      I hate to say this, because in theory I support indie bookstores. But unless it’s a store geared toward your genre, they won’t bring you much in the way of sales. That said, the great Mysterious Bookshop in lower Manhattan is a great place for crime writers – SO supportive and fabulous! The wonderful Otto Penzler is holding a book launch party for The Mystery Box, the next MWA anthology on April 30th, edited by Brad Meltzer.

      I’m lucky enough to have a story in it, so I’ll be there – stop by if you’re around. Thanks again!
      xoxo

  3. Oh, Linda, thanks so much – when I’m feeling burned out, I play the piano or take a yoga class. I am so glad you’re enjoying the Mystery class!
    Thank you so much for logging on to comment.
    All best,
    Carole

  4. I’ve always had a hunch that writers start writing as soon as they can find a way to do it. I used to scribble out all the words and pictures in the bedtime story books my parents read to me — I thought the stories could be better so I made all kinds of heiroglyphic type marks all over the pages (which was my 3-year old attempt at writing), until I could actually write. By the time I was 10 I’d written 12 novels, each one conveniently the exact length of one lined composition notebook. So I loved reading the story of your Dad “haunting” you and how it all eventually led to your first published story. Thanks for sharing that!

    I have to agree with you about bookstores and readings. I’m just not sure they pay off in terms of time invested. Pre-internet, they were a great opportunity to connect with an audience, but I just don’t think many customers are willing to sit down and hang around for very long anymore.

    What’s been your most successful marketing strategy?

  5. Janice,
    Thank you so much for your childhood stories – that’s adorable. You’ll have to put that younger version of you in a novel sometime…. so cute! Hey, I didn’t write my first novel until my thirties, so you’re way ahead of me!

    My best strategy was hiring my fabulous stepsister to do my promotion – she is much better at it than I am. Also, the added psychological boost of having someone “on your side,” as it were, is tremendous, and helps to allay the constant feeling of ickiness at promoting yourself. It also gives me more time to write. So I highly recommend her to everyone – and also recommend in general having someone to help with marketing.

  6. A terrific discussion. I am currently in an on-line mystery writing class conducted by Carole. So, I particularly enjoyed getting the scoop on her career. It helps me better appreciate her instruction and insights. I must say, though, that I had no idea she was 120 years old. I hope she keeps writing for another 120 years.

  7. Great Interview. I read “Silent Screams” and was up way past bedtime finishing it. And being a student of yours is not too shabby. Seeing (reading) the fundamentals of your lectures in your work is invaluable. Goes to show that you can’t hold back real talent. i’ve got a lot of catching up to do but you are truly an inspiration.

  8. Thanks so much, Martine! So kind of you to read and comment – and here’s to your book being in print in the future!

Leave a Reply

