12 comments on “Giving book reviews scares the hell outa me…

  1. It’s a sad fact that whatever platform is provided for any creative activity, there will be those who leap in with both feet, regardless of ability. Of course, none of us know for sure that others will want to read what we write until we put t out there, but some do need a reality check before plunging in. It doesn’t help any when family/friends of such folk encourage them out of a desire not to hurt them – a gentle nudge away from the idea would be so beneficial – and ultimately kind!

  2. This is why I do not like or give reviews for novels that I have now read. When authors ask me to like their page or go to Goodreads and give it five stars so that it will climb in the ratings, I refuse to be part of that. I did in the beginning, then I realized doing so was not being honest and hurting someone’s work, not helping.

  3. Bang on the button, yet again, Thomas.. I stated just today in my blog, HONEST reviews are the gold dust we all search,,, and that means ACCEPTING those reviews that have our ‘treasures’ valued somewhat less than where we put them.. I underwent a comprehensive 2-month edit of BOTH of my first novels, not because I thought they were bad to begin with it, but I KNEW I could improve the quality by doing so…I publish ONLY 4- and 5-star reviews ,, anything under that I do NOT quote, but get back to the author with private observations on them… THAT also backfires from time to time … seems some folks are too blinded by their ‘masterpieces ‘ “:):)

    • Ah…you hit upon something I’ve decided to do also. I don’t like publishing bad reviews either…but as you say, the truth is hard to handle for some…and yeah, I’m going to be even more diligent about my own editing….there’s some real doo-doo flying around out there, my friend…as you know…

  4. Thomas,
    I’m right with you – I had to write a signed review for PW on a book by a very well known writer. I didn’t really like it, but I felt an obligation to be fair, and I sweated bullets trying to sneak in what I thought was wrong with it. Oy. Never again – for what I was paid, I think I ended up making .02/hour.

  5. I’m not sure I have the stomach to leave bad reviews for other authors. If I don’t like a book, I don’t leave a review. If there are only a few editing errors then I’ll point them out to the author privately, but if the book is a mess then I just leave it.

    • Exactly!
      But it’s frustrating. I love to read, but seldom have time for it. When I do, I want to read something good. Or at least well written and well edited. I volunteered to read yet another one that has turned out to be neither of those…Grrrrr

Leave a Reply

